Office of Student Affairs

Student Representatives

Class Officers for the 2017-2018 Year

Year 1 Class Officers

President: Milan Malhotra
Vice President: Shaan Patel
Secretary: Valerie Kirtley
Treasurer: Yen Luu
Social Activities Chair: Abigail Murphy

Year 2 Class Officers

President:  Sarthak Garg
Vice President:  Becky Kurian
Secretary:  Rawan Rajab
Treasurer:  Mohammed Hasan
Social Chair:  Shafaa Mansoor

Year 3 Class Officers

President: Shane Storm
Vice President:
Jessica Kieu
Mehr Shah
Louis Sand

Year 4 Class Officers

President: Brandon Trandai
Vice President: Amaka Ofodu
At-Large: Joseph Bennett
At-Large: DJ Kemp

Year 5 Class Officers

President: AnnaMaria Maples
Vice President: David Sanborn
At-Large: Michael Price
At-Large: Cate Curcuru

Year 6 Class Officers

President: Mitali Thanawala
Vice President: Lexi Vollmar
At-Large: Payal Patel
At-Large: Lauren Thai
At-Large: Hima Veeramachaneni

Council Representatives

UMKC School of Medicine students are represented on major councils responsible for various aspects of the educational program. These are elected positions with several student seats on each Council. The election process begins by self-nomination for either the Council on Curriculum, Evaluation or Selection. This allows students who have identified an interest in a particular aspect of the medical school to become involved in that area. All terms last one year and begin June 1.

Coordinating Committee approves all actions by the other Councils. The student rep for the Coordinating Committee is elected by and among the other Council Reps.

  • TBA

Council on Selections is responsible for identifying and selecting students for admission to the School of Medicine. It meets four times a year, and members of this council are asked to be available for applicant interviews December through March.  It is necessary for Selection Council members to be on a rotation that fits with this interviewing schedule. Students serving on this council must currently be in good academic standing.

  • Taylor Carter
  • Ahmed Elbermawy

Council on Evaluation is responsible for evaluating performance at all levels of the medical school, both student and faculty (although students do not sit on the subcommittee for faculty promotion). It meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m..  Students serving on this Council must have good academic standing for their entire medical school career.

  • Imran Nizamuddin
  • David Sanborn

Council on Curriculum is responsible for monitoring all curricular programs  and initiating curricular changes at the School of Medicine.  It meets on the 2nd Monday of the month at 1:00 p.m. in the Humanities Conference Room. Students serving on this Council must currently be in good academic standing.

  • Akash Jani
  • First Alternate:Laura Meidi
  • Second Alternate: Asma Akhtar

Council of Docents is responsible for all activities and curriculum related to the Docent Units including the ambulatory care clinics and Docent Rotation. Meetings are once a month, currently at 7:30 a.m. on the 4th Wednesday of the month. Students must be in good academic standing.

  • Blue – Sri Ancha
  • Gold – Rahul Maheshwari
  • Green – Raveena Basra
  • Purple – Vishal Thumar
  • Red – Kelly Kapp
Organization of Student Representatives

The Organization of Student Representatives of the Association of American Medical Colleges is one of the major governing councils of the AAMC.  Its purpose is to address all issues pertinent to medical students nationwide.

  • Voting Member- David Sanborn
  • 1st Alternate-Cindy Jiang
  • 2nd Alternate- Benjamin Bernard
  • 3rd Alternate- Sunna Khan